Week-in-Review — May 28, 2012

 

This is coming a little late and includes Memorial Day coverage, so it might not technically fit into a week-in-review. I had to work all weekend and on Monday. This included covering the Med City Marathon, which went on despite some record high temperatures. I was sweating just watching the runners. Enjoyed covering the Rochester Memorial Day festivities, which are always ripe with symbolic imagery. I am happy that my job requires me to attend these events and will admit that I probably would not be there if it wasn’t for work. However, when I am no longer working for a newspaper, I hope to bring my son to these services. I do think it’s important to remember the sacrifices made through the years by brave men and women serving in the military.

Emergency personnel prepare to remove a body from the scene of a fatal accident involving a car and a semi-truck Friday, May 25, 2012 on U.S. 61 south of Winona.

Betty Duggan, with her husband Earle at her side, listens to Rev. Darren Paulson during the 5th annual Blessing of the Boats service Saturday, May 26, 2012 at the Lake City Yacht Club in Lake City. The service included prayers, music and a nautical blessing.

Kasson-Mantorville’s Kaylea Schorr is safe at home despite efforts by Stewartville catcher Jackie Betcher during 1AA West Subsection softball semi-final action Saturday, May 26, 2012 at Zumbrota-Mazeppa High School in Zumbrota.

Med City Marathon participant Kim Gordon gets a high five as she nears the finish line from Evie Ward, 5, while her mother Joan cheers near Mayo Civic Center Sunday, May 27, 2012.

V.F.W. Post 1215 Color Guard member Dana Stowers salutes during the posting of colors at the Rochester Veterans Memorial Association Memorial Day Program at Soldiers Memorial Field Monday, May 28, 2012.

Raechel Murphy and her son Henry Radke, 8, of Rochester,look at the veterans memorial wall before the start of the Rochester Veterans Memorial Association Memorial Day Program at Soldiers Memorial Field Monday, May 28, 2012. Murphy said her son is very interested in history and both of his grandfathers and an uncle served in the military.

Travis Bridgeman, 8, left, practices his salute with his fellow Cub Scouts from Pack 28 before the Rochester Veterans Memorial Association Memorial Day Program at Soldiers Memorial Field Monday, May 28, 2012. The scouts planted flags during the program.

Marge Severeid, her husband Bob Curry and dog Scot-Chi take in the Rochester Veterans Memorial Association Memorial Day Program at Soldiers Memorial Field Monday, May 28, 2012. The couple attended the event with the Rochester Area Corvette Enthusiasts group.

Scot-Chi the dog, owned by Marge Severeid and Bob Curry, of Rochester, is decked out in red, white and blue at the Rochester Veterans Memorial Association Memorial Day Program at Soldiers Memorial Field Monday, May 28, 2012.

no comments
Add a comment...

Your email is never published or shared. Required fields are marked *

Contact Us

Follow Us

Phone: 612.961.5211

UA-43249516-1